Image: Scenes from around campus

Accreditation Home

Welcome to the Peralta Accreditation site.  Here you will find documents supporting our accreditation efforts.
The Peralta Colleges (Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, Laney College, and Merritt College) are accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior College of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, 10 Commercial Blvd., Suite 204, Novato, CA 94949, 415.506.0234, an institutional accrediting body recognized by the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation and the U.S. Department of Education.
The four Peralta Colleges are approved by the Office of the Chancellor of the California Community Colleges and are fully accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC), the recognized local accrediting agency which is affiliated with the Federation of Regional Accrediting Commissions of Higher Education. The Office of Private Postsecondary Education also approves the four Peralta Colleges to offer courses to U.S. Veterans for collection of veterans’ benefits.
Each institution affiliated with the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges accepts the obligation to undergo periodic evaluation through Institutional Self Evaluation (self study) and professional peer review. The heart of this obligation is the conducting of a rigorous Institutional Self Evaluation during which an institution appraises itself in terms of its stated purposes. A Comprehensive Institutional Self Evaluation is required every six years following initial accreditation.  A Midterm Report is required three years after the Comprehensive Institutional Self Evaluation.


Accreditation Documents


ACCJC letter7-3-13 Berkeley City College Removed from Warning

ACCJC letter7-3-13 College of Alameda Removed from Warning

ACCJC letter7-3-13 Laney College Removed from Warning

ACCJC letter7-3-13 Merritt College Removed from Warning

ACCJC letter7-3-13 PCCD Financial Review action

Berkeley City College Follow-Up Visit Team Report April 2013

College of Alameda Follow-Up Visit Team Report April 2013

Laney College Follow-Up Visit Team Report April 2013

Merritt College Follow-Up Visit Team Report April 2013

Final BCC Follow Up Report

Final CoA Follow Up Report

Final Laney Follow Up Report

Final Merritt Follow Up Report

Peralta 4-1-13 Special Report to ACCJC Final

ACCJC letter 2-5-13




ACCJC Peralta Action Letter July-2-2012

ACCJC Follow -Up Report to PCCD May 2012

Follow-Up Report & Documentation (March 15, 2012)

Accreditation Summit (March 22, 2012)




ACCJC Removal from Probation

ACCJC Removal from Probation_Berkeley City College

ACCJC Removal from Probation_College of Alameda

ACCJC Removal from Probation _Laney College

ACCJC Removal from Probation_Merritt College

ACCJC June 30, 2011 Action Letter to PCCD

Follow-Up Visit Team Report, April 2011


Follow-Up Report & Documentation (April 1, 2011) 

PCCD Response to ACCJC 3-15-11

January 2011 Commission Letter and Follow up Visit Report – ACCJC letter 2-14-11

Strategic Plan – Progress and Successes 2009-2010




Accreditation Visiting Team – November 4, 2010

ACCJC Follow-Up Report – October 15, 2010

Follow-Up Report & Documentation (October 15, 2010)

Special Report 4-01-10

Supporting Documentation 4-01-10

Follow-up Reports & Documentation 03-15-10

ACCJC Letter to Peralta – June 30, 2010

An Open Letter from Chancellor to Our Colleges Students and Community

Statement On Budget Reduction Planning




ACCJC District and College Action Letters – June 30, 2009

ACCJC Request for Special Report on Audit Findings – November 18, 2009



Links to the College Accreditation Web Sites
Berkeley City College
College of Alameda
Laney College
Merritt College

  • Peralta Community College District

    The district comprises four campuses serving northern Alameda County.