Image: Scenes from around campus

Posts Tagged International students

Peralta Study Abroad Programs

26 February 2018

The Peralta Colleges are offering upcoming programs abroad led by faculty in Belize, Iceland/New Zealand, England, Germany, Egypt, Ghana, China, Japan/Taiwan, and Mexico.

Deadlines are quickly approaching for certain programs!
Click here to fill out our Pre-Travel Information Form to learn more about the program you are interested in: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/peraltapretravel

JAPAN Principles of Retailing (May 24-May 31, 2019) – Merritt College, Simon Chan (ychan@peralta.edu)
CHINA Study Abroad in China (May 27-June 7, 2019) Laney College (Pending Approval)
COSTA RICA Physical Geography (May 31 – June 15, 2019) College of Alameda – Gary Hasbrouck (gmhasbrouck@peralta.edu) – (Pending Approval)
ICELAND Anthropology Field Studies (June 1-7, 2019) – College of Alameda, Jayne Smithson (jsmithson@peralta.edu)
LONDON Cosmetology (June 1-11, 2019) Laney College, Cosmetology – Petra Maria (petramaria@sbcglobal.net)
MEXICO Nauatl/Spanish (June 1-16, 2019) Laney College, Arturo Davila-Sanchez (adavila@peralta.edu)
BELIZE Critical Thinking (June 5-15, 2019) – Merritt College, Egbert Higinio (ehiginio@earthlink.net)
GERMANY History of Western Art (July 5-21, 2019) College of Alameda, Maria Guzman (mguzman@peralta.edu)
TAIWAN Principles of Retailing (July 26-August 1, 2019) – Merritt College, Simon Chan (ychan@peralta.edu)
EGYPT Beginning Conversational Arabic (Dates TBD Summer 2019) Berkeley City College  – Gaye Walton-Price (gwaltonprice@peralta.edu) PENDING COLLEGE APPROVAL
GHANA Dance, Intercultural Communications and African American Studies (July 23 – August 9, 2019) – Laney College/College of Alameda, Andrea Lee (avlee@peralta.edu), Kwesi Wilson (kwilson@peralta.edu), Jody Campbell (jcampbell@peralta.edu)
NEW ZEALAND Anthropology Field Studies (August 1-12, 2019) – College of Alameda,Jayne Smithson (jsmithson@peralta.edu)

For more information, please contact Drew Gephart at dgephart@peralta.edu or visit the Study Abroad website at http://web.peralta.edu/international/study-abroad

 
Sincerely,
 
Drew Gephart
International Services Manager
Peralta Community College District
Office of International Education
333 East 8th Street
Oakland, CA, 94606
Tel: (510) 587-7834; Fax: (510) 663-0937

Filed under: Academic Excellence. Tagged: , ,

Peralta’s International Education Office Joins Institute of International Education’s Generation Study Abroad Initiative

3 June 2014

IMG_0919

The Peralta Community College District’s Office of International Education has joined the Institute of International Education’s Generation Study Abroad Initiative to double the number of American students who study abroad by the end of the decade. The initiative is also focused on increasing the diversity of students who study abroad, ensuring quality and removing barriers to participation.

In the last two years, the Peralta Colleges has had 56 students study abroad. This year two programs are being offered through the Laney College Dance Department for Summer 2014: Cuban Culture and History through Dance Study Abroad (Havana, Cuba – July 11-18, 2014) and Travel to Haiti (Haiti – July 26-August 17, 2014). More information, visit http://web.peralta.edu/international/study-abroad/.

A total of 308 partners have joined Generation Study Abroad to date. They include 241 United States colleges and universities and other associations and organizations, including the U.S. Department of State and the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

“I believe all students should have the opportunity and access to study abroad,” says Drew Gephart from Peralta’s Office of International Education. “I am excited to join the Generation Study Abroad initiative, and committed to making a difference in the lives of our students through our study abroad program,” added Gephart, pictured with Wagaye Johannes, Project Director at the Institute of International Education, accepting a Certificate of Appreciation to the Peralta Colleges.

Peralta’s Office of International Education is committed to finding new and creative solutions to enable students to participate in the study abroad experience. Study abroad improves student learning by integrating knowledge with real life experiences, creates a lasting learning experience for everyone, promotes the colleges and their programs on a global level, and provides an opportunity where students and faculty develop a greater appreciation for other cultures and become more globally aware.

Filed under: Announcements, Peralta News. Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

  • Peralta Colleges

    Sunday 17 February 2019
    Powered by Wordpress

  • Peralta Community College District is comprised of Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, Laney College, and Merritt College. Together they provide northern Alameda County a range of educational programs and life-long learning opportunities.
  • Peralta Colleges on Facebook Peralta Colleges on Twitter Peralta Colleges on YouTube Peralta Colleges on Instagram tumblr_logo_white_blue_32

  •