Image: Scenes from around campus

Financial Aid Federal Update


On December 23, 2011 the Consolidated Appropriations Act was signed into law which significantly impacts Federal Student aid programs effective July 1, 2012.  

Pell Lifetime Eligibility Limit

Effective with the 2012-2013 award year, the duration of a student’s eligibility to receive a Federal Pell Grant is 12 full-time semesters (or its equivalent). The calculation of the duration of a student’s eligibility will include all years of the student’s receipt of Federal Pell Grant funding. Once a student has received a Federal Pell Grant for 12 full-time semesters (or its equivalent) the student will no longer be eligible for a Federal Pell Grant for future semesters.

High School Graduation Requirements

Effective July 1, 2012, students who do not have a high school diploma or a recognized equivalent (e.g., GED), or do not meet the home school requirements, will not be eligible to receive Federal student aid. Students may qualify for Federal student aid under one of the Ability-to-Benefit Test (ATB) alternatives IF the student was enrolled in a federal student aid eligible program prior to July 1, 2012. The ATB alternatives include the student passing an independently administered, approved ATB test or successfully completing at least six credit hours of postsecondary education.

Direct Loan Grace Period Interest Subsidy

Effective July 1, 2012, students with Direct Subsidized Loans originated/disbursed on or after July 1, 2012 and before July 1, 2014 will be responsible for payment of interest accrued during the six month grace period.

Financial Aid Repeat Course Policy

Effective July 1, 2011, the Department of Education required colleges to limit how many times students can repeat a course and still receive financial aid for that course. Once a student earns a passing grade for a course that student can only repeat the course one more time and still receive financial aid.   A passing grade is defined by the college as a D- or better. If a student enrolls in a previously passed course for a third time, this course will not count for financial aid purposes. 

The policy allows a student to receive financial aid under the following situations:

1)    To repeat any failed or withdrawn course until a passing grade is received. 

2)    To repeat one time any course in which you previously received a passing grade.


**Please note that the repeat course policy for financial aid is separate from institutional academic polices regarding repeat courses.**


To print the information on this page, please click the link below:

Financial Aid Federal Update

  • Financial Aid

    Thursday 28 July 2016
    Powered by Wordpress

  • Peralta Community College District

    The district comprises four campuses serving northern Alameda County.
  • Oakland Weather