For Faculty

Why Study Abroad?

  1. Improves student learning by integrating knowledge with real life experiences
  2. Creates a lasting learning experience for everyone
  3. Promotes the Colleges and their programs on a global level
  4. Students and faculty develop a greater appreciation for other cultures and become more globally aware

Click here to review our Study Abroad Administrative Procedure

Proposal for Establishing a Study Abroad Program

Proposal_for_Establishing_a_Study_Abroad_Program must be submitted to the Office of International Education after it is signed by your division Dean and Vice President of Instruction. Sample-of-Proposal-Cuba-2014

Proposals need to be approved and submitted to the Office of International Education 1-year prior to trip in order to allow enough time for promotion and success for your trip!

Please review Current Travel Warnings when selecting your country –  http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/notices

Waiver Forms (REQUIRED for Students)

All participants must be a PCCD Student and fill out the Waiver Release/Assumption of Risks forms prior to trip – Waiver-Release-AOR (2)

Travel Insurance (REQUIRED for Students)

It is also required that all students purchase Study Abroad travel insurance:

Patriot Travel Medical Insurance – Leslie Hernandez (Leslie@studentinsuranceusa.com) or (310) 826-5688

Cultural Insurance Services International (CISI) – Ted Cenatiempo (TCenatiempo@culturalinsurance.com) or (203) 399-5556

Promoting Your Program

  • Announcement Request Form
  • abroad101
  • Promote the program in own classroom.
  • Connect with various student groups on campus (student clubs, student government, student ambassadors).
  • Create flyers and brochures. Distribute them to counseling office, library and other available locations on campus.
  • Targeted classroom visits.
  • Attend campus and committee meetings to disseminate information.
  • Work with faculty, administration and staff from other colleges.
  • Be creative!

Need Help Designing Your Program?

These third-party providers can assist with logistics in planning your study abroad program.

Global Education Facilitation –  Paul Bardwil (pbardwil@aol.com) or (916) 225-8207  (Expert in designing programs to Cuba, Peru, Mexico and other locations)

Education First College Study Tours –  – Juliette Vo (Juliette.Vo@ef.edu) and Amy Brown (Amy.Brown@ef.edu)

American Institute for Foreign Study (AIEF) – Lisa Davies (ldavies@aifs.com)

API Abroad – Julie Van Vechten-Smith (julie.vsmith@apiabroad.com)

CAPA Global Education Network – Darren Smith-Gaddis (dsmith-gaddis@capa.org)

CISabroad – Kylie Gallagher (kgallagher@cisabroad.com)

Go-today – Katrina Plucker (katrina.plucker@go-today.com) and Ricarda Haeger (ricarda.haeger@travelse.co.uk)